I forget

Went to a really good speaker meeting. It was a typical alcoholic story. What kind of shook me awake at the end of the story was this person has about four months of sobriety. I forget how close a lot of people are to their last drink in the program. How close they are to their old way of life. I can see in their faces and hear in their sharing the miracle of their new life in sobriety.

Not that this has all become old hat, its just… I believe more and more that sobriety is a miracle.

 

Also I realized that after a major loss in my life about 12 years ago I pretty much walked away from everyone.

  1. I have a tendency to forget that we are gifted with each 24 hours of sobriety. There are no gurantees. None.

    How’ve you been?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

