Heavy Metal and Sobriety

 

To thine own self be true.

Truth is, I’m a metal head. A forty-two year old metal head. I love music and guitar just as much today as I did when I was twelve. Maybe more so.

The tendonitis in my left hand has healed after seven years. That wasn’t the only reason I stopped playing guitar. Somehow I felt like I should grow up and not do the metal and guitar thing anymore. It felt irresponsible for some reason.

I am anything but irresponsible. I provide a comfortable life for me and my family. I work hard and I am rewarded. For some reason I felt that I should be more like the people I work with. Serious and adult like. In shutting out guitar and music from my life I’ve entered a life of depression and lack of direction. I was not being true to myself.

Everything good in my life has come through AA. The saying “to thine own self be true” I first heard in AA. I’ve taken the advice and my life has come back to life.

I’m setting my home recording studio back up. I’ve scheduled a rehearsal with my brother (the drummer) for Friday.

Prepare for the METAL!

  1. That’s cool about your sobriety.. Stay clean and mean man!!

  2. Dude, I’m so glad you have finally come to your senses. Metal NEEDS us. It really, really does. (and we bought drums for our 6 year old for Christmas…)

    • angrysoberdude
    • January 8th, 2011

    To thine own metal self be true \m/ >_< \m/

    • seth s
    • February 16th, 2011

    thanks for this post brother. i am 42 with one year sober and have been feeling like it’s time to grow out of metal, but it is depressing me big time. glad to know it is safe to pack away the acoustic and go back to massive gain and drop d tuning. horns up.

    • angrysoberdude
    • February 17th, 2011

    Cool, thats great Seth. If I was your sponsor I would tell you to keep going to meetings and forget the drop D tuning and get a seven string.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

