Chick-fil-A

I walked into a beginners meeting with about three weeks sober and shared. I raised my hand and said I was going out drinking tonight unless someone could talk me out of it.

The guy sitting next to me (Mike B.) had five years at the time and came up to me after the meeting and said he was my new sponsor. He told me that I was to not go out drinking that night because he was going to pick me up the next day and take me to a meeting. He continued to take me to meetings over the next several months, day after day until I was capable of getting myself to a meeting.

He saved my life.

I’m not sure if I would have stayed sober (or alive) if he had not done what he did. Twenty one years ago.

You never know the impact you may have on someones life. Say hi to a newcomer or an old timer who doesn’t come around often. It could make all the difference in the world to them (me).

  1. Thanks for this.

  2. powerful story. thanks for sharing it. Love the oldtimer AA’s who give direct, save-ur-life sponsoring.

    Happy 2010…one day at a time 🙂

    Christina

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

