Is being sober worth it?

Yep.

Man! What a trip. Fuck you if you are tired of hearing how good my sober life is. I hear that occasionally at meetings. I share how AA has changed my life and some dickhead will come over and say, “I just can’t relate, you are way too happy”. Which is odd because the whole ASD thing, right(lol)? 

Life is hard for everyone. I think the thing that the years in sobriety have given me is the ability to look back on all the hard times I have been through and see how they have shaped the person I now am. I feel closer to God now than I ever have. I don’t regret the past.

I’ve taken a big step this year in easing up on myself. This disease kills more people than it spares. I’ve been spared and I’ve prospered. I was a drunk that was being kicked out of college. I was going nowhere and I had no one in my life. Today I am a happy, successful father and husband. Sober. I am done beating myself up for not being good enough. I am. It’s like that ridiculous SNL skit, good enough, smart enough and gosh darn it  people like me. You get the idea.

AA is full of people in varying stages of recovery. I get that. Been there, done that and got the coins. They will just have to tolerate me sharing about the promises coming true in my life while I listen to their stories of suffering. I did it too. 

Being sober is totally worth it. It gave me back me. It continues to do so everyday. Everyday life seems a little more amazing even if there are still assholes who piss me off. I’m not perfect.

 

    • Steve
    • November 5th, 2009

    What motivates you to keep going back to meetings after all these years?

    • angrysoberdude
    • November 5th, 2009

    Thanks for asking Steve.

    As I have posted my life is really good, despite any of the whining I may do about it. When I go to meetings, and listen, there is no doubt in my mind that I am still an alcoholic after all these years. Just one drink and all that I have and all that I am could be gone.

    I also go because I’ve gone to meetings before where the only two people who showed up were me and a new comer. I’d hate to think of what would have happened to me if I showed up for my first meeting and no one was there.

    Isolation is a big trigger for depression for me. Meetings really take the edge off of isolating.

    I never stop learning in AA. Good and bad. I always seem to hear something that I need to.

    AA really changed the relationship I have with my Higher Power. I feel a strong attachment to meetings because of that.

  1. Other people sharing their hope and strength in recovery is why I keep going back to Al-Anon. I started going to Al-Anon in April of 1989 because my Adult Children of Alcoholics sponsor told me to. I went for almost 10 years, also going to an occasional open AA meeting. All three meetings helped me to find out who I was.

    I stopped going to meetings for close to 10 years. A friend asked me to go to Al-Anon meetings with her. She was afraid to go by herself. We have been going off and on for about a year now. I didn’t realize how much it would still help me to live a better life.

    My dad and grandfather were both alcoholics. I would be if I ever started to drink. My fears from my childhood and knowing that I have that alcoholic gene are why I only rarely have a social drink. I don’t want to take the chance that alcohol could also destroy my life like it did that of my dad and grandfather. They both drank until the day that they died.

    Congratulations to you for your time in recovery. Thanks for visiting my blog. I will be back to read more about your journey through life. Keep telling others how happy you are in recovery. That is the place most of us want to be. The people that can’t relate sure do want to be there too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

