Thinking

What is it about thinking that requires so much effort? It’s not like you have to lift anything.

Come up with a thesis and write a twenty page paper to prove or support it. How about a whole book to  support it? That would require a lot of thinking.

The next few weeks at work are requiring me to do a lot of  thinking/math/organization. I can feel the drain on me physically as well as mentally. I can solve the Rubix cube, but all I did was memorize the instructions from off the web. I consider that cheating. Almost anyone can follow a procedure.

What if I had to solve the cube myself. No instructions? I’m not sure I could do it. I’m not sure I want to do it. The level of effort and thinking would be highly unpleasant. Why is that?

I don’t think it was unpleasant for Einstein or Newton to think about physics and the laws of the universe. It did require effort on their part.

I’m sure I could figure out the answer to this but I really don’t want to think about it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

