Yodels

yodels_sm

 

I love Yodels even though they pretty much suck now.

Ok, so I have had this conversation about Yodels about a hundred times and it still gets me fired up.

Do you remember Yodels about thirty years ago? They weren’t the same as they are now. First of all they were made with real chocolate, not this mostly wax bullshit. They were also individually wrapped in foil. The cakes were soft and the filling creamy.

The whole world is going this way. Companies are under great pressure from shareholders to show compounded annual growth of 10% or more each year or else. So what happens? Yodels get fucked in the ass because some greedy fuck needs another yacht. Booooo!

I would gladly pay $10 for a box of real Yodels (about double the price) but some dickhead executive buyer at Walmart would find a way to fuck that up too. Booooo on Walmart where the policy is that we will not be undersold because we will give shit away at a loss until our competitors fold and our suppliers fuck their employees out of a reasonable wage.

I have hope though. Yesterday I had a bowl of Raisin Bran and I could swear there were three scoops in that box.

I digress.

    • bro frankie
    • July 31st, 2009

    you used to be able to un roll a yodel..i do miss the foil..

    i have teens and they told me to stop complaining bout yodels..

    evry time i get some, i tell the yodel story..

    nice to know i am not alone..

    do you miss the cereal quisp too? 🙂

    Brother Frankie
    A Biker for Christ

    (i would pay some big bucks for a box of yodels from 1970.)

  1. Nutty bars are still awesome though! So are Fudgie Rounds! Go Little Debbie!

    • Steve
    • August 4th, 2009

    I moved to TX a number of years ago. No Drakes or Tasty Kakes here. I agree, the quality of nearly everything has suffered.

    Thanks for this blog. I’ve been praying for some guidance lately and I stumbled on your thoughts. Some are very powerful and really speak directly to me. I’ve been seeknig a reason for sobriety again after four years out. This disease is miserable and it ruins lives.

    Anyway, please keep the thoughts coming and thanks again!!

    • Steve
    • August 4th, 2009

    By the way, your thoughts on kindness and praying for the assholes in our lives has recently helped me regain some spiritual traction. Just wanted to let you know, that God is clearly at work here.

      • angrysoberdude
      • August 4th, 2009

      Thanks for your comments Steve. Hope you keep going to meetings.
      Joe

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

