How did I get here?

I started drinking at the age of twelve. It was always to get drunk.

It just dawned on me tonight when my five year old said, “Dad, this is great beer. I mean root beer” that my first buzz was at the age of twelve. My mom gave me two glasses of blackberry brandy because, as I was later told, that I had been a pain in the ass all day. This was her way of chilling me out.

I remember how great it felt. I remember thinking after my  parents go to sleep I could easily sneek into the liquor cabinet and get some more.

The rest of the kids in the neighborhood were out playing ball and tag. I was busy tying one on. I’ve never been one to join in with the crowd.

Slowly these days I am trying to join in and have some fun with people and not isolate so much. Its easy to do with work and kids. Bowling was a lot of fun this season and now I am starting golf. I have not been to a course yet but I have been to the driving range. Its hard to hit that little #$%@& ball.

Still I love to think of myself as unique. I am pretty sure I am the only one on the range who is a total metal head but you never know.

  1. Thats something we both have in common. I did the same thing, played the martyr always the lone wolf. These days I’m happier with myself and able to actually get along with people..surprises even me. (Hugs)Indigo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

