Lent

The following is from the site http://www.kingofpeace.org/lent.htm

 

Observing Lent
The custom is to mark the season of Lent by giving up some things and taking on others. Both can serve to mark the season as a holy time of preparation. Some examples of things people give up for Lent include sweets, meat for all or some meals, and alcohol. In most cases, giving up something for Lent can be made more meaningful by using the money or time for another purpose. For example, meal times on fast days could be spent in prayer. Another example is that if you give up meat during Lent, the extra money that would go to meat dishes can be given to a group, such as World Vision, which works to end hunger worldwide. Some things added during Lent are daily Bible reading, fasting on Fridays, times of prayer, taking a course of study related in some way to spirituality. Note that the season of Lent is forty days plus the six Sundays. This is because Sundays are celebrations of Jesus’ resurrection and are always an appropriate day to lessen the restrictions of Lent. So that if you have, for example, given up chocolate for Lent, you could indulge in a weekly candy bar on Sunday.

Lent is also an especially appropriate time for the sacrament of confession. While confession to a priest is not required to receive God’s forgiveness, it can be a meaningful rite of reconciliation to God.

I have decided for the first time in my life that I am going to give something up for lent. I am really not much of a Catholic but I am trying. I have decided I am going to stay off my computer for lent. I am going to take all that time I spend on the computer and spend it with my kids.

I will talk to you all in 40 days.

 

  1. Very cool. See you soon.

  2. Lent is my favourite season of the church calendar.
    I’ve given up blogging for Lent before.
    I’m still undecided about what to do for Lent this year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

