First time ever quoting from the bible

If someone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for the one who does not love his brother whom he has seen, cannot love God whom he has not seen.

1 John 4:20

 

I acknowledge God as the reason I have been able to stay sober. I also feel like I do have a good relationship with him. And kidding aside with the whole angrysoberdude thing I really do have a problem with anger.

Today I was the cause of a major mistake at work because I really am angry with someone I work with. He is almost always asleep when I come in and he can’t be bothered with the “details”.  In trying to slight him on something minor I screwed up something major.

God loves this guy just as much as me and I feel like He pointed that out to me today.

  1. It’s inspiring to read such a short but humble post. Once again, thanks. (and look, I refrained from being a smart ass, too.)

  2. Honesty… here I go. I found it hard to read that Bible quote because it called me on my shit. Shit that’s on the inside. We don’t always talk about our feelings of being better than people or smarter than people, but its there, its ugly. So, the question is, so what if its on the inside, as long as its not on the outside, in the world, right? Ummm… I’m not trying fix the outside. Thanks. No, not thanks, I didn’t want to deal with it. But I do. So thanks. Ugh.

    • angrysoberdude
    • January 18th, 2009

    Here is the deal on this stuff. When I went back to church it was only because I found one or two people who had a positive message about how God loves me NO MATTER WHAT I’VE DONE. There is nothing in this life that I could do that would change that. I found one or two people in AA when I walked in the rooms who did the same thing. Everyone of us who walks into the rooms of AA is banged up, NOT WORTHLESS OR FLAWED. Period.
    I poured way too much alocohol in me to try to make me feel better about myself when God thought I was good all along.

    • betterman1
    • January 21st, 2009

    Glad I found your blog. I have a jackass who works for me, and is going to take over from me when I move on. Today was the first day I actually got him out of my head and just accepted (for a couple of minutes) that he and I don’t have to agree. It’s fine. Just have confidence in myself. Tough to do. I fail at that almost every day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

