One day at a time

Twenty years, one day at a time.

In sobriety I was kicked out of college, lost my drivers license for a year, fired, broke and in debt, severely depressed(and wanting OUT) and of course the biggie which was loosing my twin sons at 28 weeks due to TTTS.

In sobriety I graduated from college, met my wife in AA, got a great job, moved around the country and met some great sober people (including this guy who goes to the Bowers Park meeting) and of course the biggie which was the birth of my two daughters who are now 5 and 8 years old.

Growing up in my house sucked, my dad was violent and an addict and my mother was a punching bag who always wanted to “clean” my room.

When I walked into AA people put their hand out to me and saved my life.

DO IT! Every time you see someone new walk in the door make sure you say hi. IT SAVED MY LIFE!

Mike B. wherever you are thank you. You appointed yourself my sponsor and took me to meetings and kept me alive.

Bill R. I know where you are but thank you anyway. I shared the most humiliating and shameful things in my fourth step and all I got back from you was love. You are my example of how a man in AA should be.

I am proof that this program works thanks to people like you.

Thank you.

  1. You are a perfect example of “It works, if you work it.” And it is worth it. Well done.

  2. Happy Sobriety Day and Happy New Year!

  3. Congratulations, and many more!

  4. The first meeting I went to I was terrified. Everyone was talking and no one even said hello. I was standing by the coffee pot looking like a deer in the headlights, ready to bolt and I felt invisible. Finally, I asked someone if there was anywhere I should sit and he just said, no sit anywhere you want. I sat at a table and they did the first step. I didn’t know even what an alcoholic was, much less whether I was one or not. They had me talk second and I said I didn’t know and a little about what was going on. This old man across from me laughed at me and sneered, “ya and you don’t know if you’re an alcoholic” and the others laughed. I just shut up, and when I left I burst into tears, swearing I would never go back, and I didn’t for 9 years, just sunk deeper and deeper. Thankfully I had a much better experience that time and I swore I would always approach anyone who looked new or scared and try to help. And I have.

    Sorry so long…

  5. Listy comment:
    1. I was totally hitting on you.
    2. But I do like the other picture better.
    3. I thought about you today at our meeting because a new guy walked in, he looked terrified and I SAID HI.
    4. Ann and I (well Ann, but I was there) actually told the guy to google AngrySoberDude and recommended finding your blog. She said really good things about you (and I nodded) so I thought I’d let you know, you’re making a difference.

    • Neal F
    • January 4th, 2009

    Thanks for the motivation. Life is good as a sober person…one day at a time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

