Tonight is the night

So twenty years ago today was my last drink.

I had been going to AA for about three months and had two or three relapses but December 31st, 1988 was the last time I drank alcohol.

My sobriety started on New Years Eve at the age of twenty years old.

So I am proof that you can be a total fuck up and still get and stay sober. My life  has had its ups and downs but I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Today my life is amazing (despite how much I may complain).

  1. Wow dude. A New Years Eve sobriety date. Now THAT’S hardcore. Congratulations 🙂

  2. Happy New Year, and Happy So-berthday! 🙂

  3. Wow, Congratulations. I am speechless.

    Not really, I always have something to say. And first, I never think you complain. Second, you are an inspiration, truly, truly. And thirdly, I’m glad you’re on my blogroll. Your posts are always to the point and usually a point I need to read.

    Congrats again. And again. And again.

  4. Congrats ASD.

    Btw, Sarah’s hitting on you. Don’t get excited, she hits on everyone. Even me, if no one else is around…

    😉

  5. And wow, you’re a Dream Theater fan? me too! Except their waaay too long guitar solos, which only a musician can appreciate. really.

  6. Congrats on your 20 years!

    • angrysoberdude
    • January 1st, 2009

    Thanks everyone! Its not really a celebration unless you have some people to celebrate with!

    Hey another Dream Theater fan! Awesome.

  7. Congrats on 20 years!
    My son turned a year old the day you got sober. I’d been sober exactly 9 months.
    It really is a miracle isn’t it?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

