Crappy book

So I am reading this shitty recovery book a publishing company sent me. I’ve seen someone else review it somewhere else.

Damn author went and printed my “secrets”. Great.

So far from what I have read, as it applies to me, I realize that I have built my life up so I am unapproachable.

You can’t question my sobriety because in most cases I have a lot more time than you (19yrs). You can’t question my responsibility because I earn enough to own my own home, two new cars, my wife stays at home, we eat out all the time, vacations every summer. You can’t question my spirituality because I read the Big Book, Step Book, go to church and pray every morning and night. Etc.

I think you get the point.

The thing is I have shut people out of my life more and more over the last eight years (since my first daughter was born) and it is killing me. I’ve only felt this alone when I first came into the program.

So after reading the book so far I realized that I am going back to my old ways.

Somewhere inside is a ten year old kid who is afraid that no one likes him.

    • sarah
    • December 15th, 2008

    interesting review. but don’t worry too much, I like you.

    I know, I know, you are greatly relieved by this. I would be too.

  1. So, what’s the next move, Joe? Maybe you should warn us so we don’t buy the shitty recovery book. ;0)

    • angrysoberdude
    • December 15th, 2008

    Book review soon to follow.
    Watching movies is much easier.

    • WIll
    • December 16th, 2008

    “Somewhere inside is a ten year old kid who is afraid that no one likes him”…. I love this…I have this thought often and it has been a hell of a ride once I started to see how this showed up in my life…but that’s recovery for ya—tellin you what you gotta do to be who to get you to where you want to be : )

    • Ann
    • December 16th, 2008

    Well you know, you seem so down all the time that it seems that you’re only sober, not happy, joyous and free (but I also know that reading a blog once in awhile isn’t a complete picture of a person so take that FWIW). I’m not there yet either, but I’d say I’m improving quite a bit. I’ve found that so many in sobriety don’t make a conscious decision to be a happy person,to actually Recover, they seem to think it will just come, but focusing on the negative all the time, it will never come. We are deeply entrenched in focusing on negative. That change is work, but it works. so I’m told… but i believe it. read the promises… fear of people will leave us. after 19 years it hasn’t (so you say). um, why not? its a Promise for crying out loud, not a “maybe”! I like to read the Promises and gauge where I am spiritually based on where they are in my life, if at all. And ya know i’m ok with being a Sometimes Slooooooowly person.

    All this is just my humble opinion…

    • Ann
    • December 16th, 2008

    ps: ya i’m with sarah, i guess i like ya too.

    • freaky
    • December 18th, 2008

    Early on in my recovery a very good friend told me to expect recovery to be like peeling an onion…it all comes out in layers, and with many tears. Through shedding those layers, and going that much deeper toward that core (little one who is fearful of people, places, and things)…I come that much closer to having my outsides match my insides. Learning to comfort that little one? Yeah…think of your own child…I think of mine…and respond in kind.

    My kids were raised in AA rooms…youngest son was born shortly after my 2nd BirthDay…he’ll be 23 soon. While I’m still a sick puppy…chuckles…, they were raised in a loving, nurturing, warm, affectionate, clean/sober home. Owies? Mom held, petted, and loved them till their tears dried. Why is that such a difficult concept when applied to our own inner selves when we need that comfort?

    Keep it simple toots. Laughs…Gotta love it to live it.

  2. Oh yeah, I forgot to ask… “What’s the title of the book?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

