Rutgers

So twenty years ago I walked into an AA meeting at a church on the Rutgers campus. I soon found out that Rutgers offered a sober housing program and recovery counseling. We are having a 25 year reunion for that program next week. I am totally stoked.

My life was falling apart my sophomore year and I couldn’t stop drinking. I am going to see a lot of the people who gave their time and love so that I didn’t have to die an alcoholic death.

It all started with a sincere prayer to God to please help me, I can’t stop drinking.

  1. Am I reading this right?! 25 years of sobriety?! Wow! God bless you! BTW, I don’t want to get in your business, but I see beyond the angry sober dude. Is there something else that I can call you?

  2. Dude that is AWESOME! I want to hear all about it.

    • angrysoberdude
    • November 4th, 2008

    LOL, well I will have twenty years on Jan 1st(God willing).
    I guess you can just call me Joe.

    Joe

  3. Congratulations.
    You are fortunate to have sobered up so young.
    It doesn’t make the recovery journey any easier though, still one day at a time, hey?

    • angrysoberdude
    • November 5th, 2008

    I am of the opinion that God got me sober early because He knew it was going to take me a long time to learn. He was right.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

