Peace be with you

I remember as kid hating to have to shake hands during the mass when it was time to share “peace” with our neighbors. I always felt awkward and shy. Now I have a hundred things running through my head. I’m convinced that the people around me don’t want to shake my hands because my family wore jeans to church or we don’t sing during mass or they don’t see us at other church functions or …. you get the idea.

It sucks when I feel the same way at meetings. I’m sure people stay away from me because I have 19 years sober and I’m crazy, not “really” sober, not working the right program… again you get the idea.

I know I’m messed up but I show up anyway. It would be nice if these feelings would subside. It has been 19 years of going to meetings. That’ll teach me for getting sober at twenty.

Peace be with you.

  1. … and also with you.

  2. I think I may have read your entire blog site today. I enjoyed your insight and honesty. I did not enjoy your pain but I certainly got a glimps of it. pam

    • angrysoberdude
    • October 29th, 2008

    Thanks, every little bit helps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

