Turning 40

Next Friday I will turn 40.

Its hard to believe its been 20 years since I walked into my first AA meeting as a young man.

Everything I have learned in AA has pushed me to seek a closer relationship with God. AA is true to its word. I live and work the twelve steps and have not picked up a drink or had the desire to do so. Often I wonder about all the people who don’t stay sober. Why don’t they stay?

Sober life can be really hard at times. I’ve even had hard years. Never give up.

Recently I had a sponsee fire me. He had six years and went back out. He’s been back about 90 days. This time around he is trying to do everything perfectly. I, however do not take that approach. Hence fired.

Its simple……

Ask God in the morning to keep you sober

Thank Him before going to bed for keeping you sober

It was my desperate plea twenty years ago to God that changed my life. God please help me I can’t stop drinking. My life was changed forever.

God loves me so much He saved my life.

Thank you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

